FTC Refunds Issued in August 2026, Who’s Getting Paid?

Check your mailbox, your bank app, and your spam folder. In August, the Federal Trade Commission sent refund payments tied to five separate cases — from a $23.8 million payout to Grubhub drivers and diners to smaller reissue rounds for people who never cashed an earlier check. Here’s exactly who qualified and how much went out.

August 2026 FTC Refunds — At a Glance

CompanyWhat HappenedAmount SentPayments
GrubhubDeceptive driver earnings claims, blocked diner accountsMore than $23.8 million640,038
Amazon FlexThird-round reissue of withheld driver tips (2016–2019)Reissue round; more than $60.6 million sent in total since 2021Not disclosed for this round
AT&TReissue of data throttling refunds (unlimited plan customers)Reissue round; more than $5.6 million sent in total since 2024Not disclosed for this round
Helping America GroupDebt relief scam — third roundMore than $463,0009,522
Blueprint to WealthBusiness opportunity scam — second roundMore than $333,0002,005

Grubhub Refunds — $23.8 Million to Drivers and Diners

This is the big one this month. The FTC and the Illinois Attorney General accused Grubhub of misleading delivery drivers about how much they could actually expect to earn, and of blocking diners out of their own accounts in a way that kept them from using gift cards they’d already paid for. Now 640,038 payments totaling more than $23.8 million are going out to both groups.

If you get a check, cash it within 90 days. If you get a PayPal payment instead, accept it within 30 days — after that, it can bounce back and slow down your payment. Questions go to the refund administrator, Analytics Consulting, at 1-888-446-4992.

That’s real money for a lot of people — but it only works if you actually deposit it before the clock runs out.

Amazon Flex Refunds — A Third Round for Withheld Tips

If you drove for Amazon Flex between 2016 and 2019, this one might be for you. The FTC first sued Amazon for secretly withholding customer tips from Flex drivers and using that money to cover Amazon’s own base pay instead of passing it along. Since 2021, the agency has returned more than $60.6 million in tips across two rounds of payments.

August’s round doesn’t go to new recipients. It’s a Zelle payment sent to drivers who got a check in an earlier round but never cashed it. If that’s you, the money lands directly in your bank account with a note referencing the settlement. Call 1-800-654-8874 with questions.

FTC Refunds Issued in August 2026, Who's Getting Paid?

AT&T Data Throttling Refunds — Another Reissue Round

Same story here, different company. AT&T settled FTC claims that it throttled data speeds for customers on “unlimited” plans once they hit a certain usage threshold — slowing things down so much that streaming and browsing became difficult. The FTC first paid out more than $5.6 million back in April 2024.

August’s payments are Zelle reissues for people who didn’t cash their original check or accept their PayPal payment the first time. Watch your bank account for a Zelle deposit with a note about the AT&T settlement. Questions go to 1-877-654-1982.

If you got a check from AT&T two years ago and it’s still sitting in a drawer, this is the FTC trying again — don’t miss it twice.

Helping America Group Refunds — Third Round for Debt Relief Victims

Helping America Group promised to negotiate down people’s debts and repair their credit for a monthly fee — and then, according to the FTC and the Florida Attorney General, largely failed to deliver. Victims ended up with unpaid debts, defaulted accounts, and damaged credit on top of what they’d already paid.

The FTC sent an initial round in 2020 and a second round in 2021, together totaling more than $20 million. Because money was still left in the settlement fund, the FTC is now sending 9,522 more payments totaling more than $463,000 to people who accepted their second payment. Cash any check within 90 days. Call 1-833-928-2567 with questions.

Blueprint to Wealth Refunds — Second Round for a Business Opportunity Scam

Blueprint to Wealth sold itself as an “everything-is-done-for-you” business opportunity, complete with paid “success coaches” — a pitch the FTC says cost members real money without delivering the promised income. The first round of refunds went out in September 2025, totaling more than $317,000.

With money still left in the fund, the FTC is sending a second round: 2,005 payments totaling more than $333,000 to people who accepted their first payment. Checks are good for 90 days; PayPal payments need to be accepted within 30. The refund administrator, JND, can be reached at 1-855-779-3542.

How Do You Know a Refund Is Real?

The FTC will never ask you to pay a fee, provide your Social Security number, or give bank account details before sending you money. If a check, email, or text asks for any of that before your refund arrives, it isn’t the FTC. Report it at ReportFraud.ftc.gov.

Genuine FTC refund payments show up one of four ways: a check in the mail, a prepaid debit card, a PayPal deposit, or a Zelle transfer with a note referencing the case. You can look up any active case by name at ftc.gov/enforcement/refunds — that page is the only place to verify a payment is legitimate.

Didn’t See Your Name Here? Here’s What to Check

  • Search your own records for any of these five company names, plus any FTC case you remember hearing about
  • Check whether you cashed an earlier FTC check — several of this month’s payments are reissues for people who missed round one
  • Confirm your current mailing address and bank details are up to date with any company you’ve filed a claim against
  • Bookmark ftc.gov/enforcement/refunds and check back monthly — new programs are added on a rolling basis

Sources Used in This FTC Refunds Article

  • Federal Trade Commission — Grubhub Refunds: https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/refunds/grubhub-refunds
  • Federal Trade Commission — Refunds for Amazon Flex Drivers: https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/refunds/refunds-amazon-flex-drivers
  • Federal Trade Commission — AT&T Data Throttling Refunds: https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/refunds/att-data-throttling-refunds
  • Federal Trade Commission — Helping America Group Refunds: https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/refunds/helping-america-group-refunds
  • Federal Trade Commission — Blueprint to Wealth Settlement: https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/refunds/blueprint-wealth-settlement
  • Federal Trade Commission — FTC Refund Programs (full active list): https://www.ftc.gov/enforcement/refunds

Researched and written by Israr Ahmad, legal content researcher and founder of AllAboutLawyer.com. All figures verified directly against FTC.gov on September 8, 2026. Last Updated: September 8, 2026.

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Laws vary by state and individual circumstances differ. For advice about your specific situation, consult a qualified attorney.

About the Author

Israr Ahmad is a legal content researcher with 4+ years of experience covering class action settlements and consumer rights cases. He has researched and published coverage of 2,500+ settlements using verified court records, settlement administrator filings, and government sources. Learn more about Israr.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *