Dallas County Considers $1.5 Million Settlement in Spencer Swearnger Jail Death Case
Dallas County is considering a $1,500,000 settlement with the family and estate of Spencer Wayne Swearnger, who died in November 2023 after being held in the Dallas County Jail. The Dallas County Commissioners Court’s October 6, 2026 agenda asks for approval of a “full and final” settlement of the federal civil-rights and wrongful-death lawsuit Slay et al. v. Dallas County, Texas, Case No. 3:25-CV-01524-N, in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Texas.
This is not a class action. There is no public settlement fund, claim form, administrator or claim deadline. Only the plaintiffs named in the lawsuit are covered. The settlement is also not a court finding that Dallas County caused Swearnger’s death or violated his rights.
Dallas County Spencer Swearnger Settlement: Quick Facts
| Detail | Information |
| Proposed settlement | $1,500,000 |
| Case | Debra Slay and Shantella Tony v. Dallas County, Texas |
| Case number | 3:25-CV-01524-N (docket: 3:2025cv01524) |
| Court | U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Texas (Dallas) |
| Judge | Chief District Judge David C. Godbey |
| Plaintiffs | Debra Slay and Shantella Tony, as independent administrator of the Estate of Spencer Wayne Swearnger, with the estate’s heirs and wrongful-death beneficiaries |
| Defendant | Dallas County, Texas |
| Claims | 42 U.S.C. § 1983 civil-rights claims; wrongful-death and survival claims |
| Complaint filed | June 13, 2025 |
| Jury demand | Both sides |
| Trial setting | February 1, 2027 (per the docket’s scheduling order) |
| Last closed-session briefing | September 15, 2026 (per the county) |
| Approval vote | Commissioners Court agenda, October 6, 2026 |
| Payee named by the county | Law Offices of Dean Malone, P.C. |
| Public claim form, eligibility or deadline | None |
Why Is Dallas County Considering a $1,500,000 Settlement in Slay v. Dallas County?
Debra Slay and Shantella Tony sued Dallas County on June 13, 2025 under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, the federal law that lets people seek damages when someone acting for a state or local government deprives them of constitutional rights. Dallas County was served on June 17, 2025 and filed its answer on July 8, 2025. On July 25, 2025, the court set the case for trial starting February 1, 2027. The proposed settlement would end the case before that trial.
The county’s briefing, as described in the agenda document, would resolve wrongful-death damages, survival-claim damages, and the claims of Debra Slay, the estate’s administrator, Swearnger’s heirs and his wrongful-death beneficiaries. It does not state that Dallas County admits liability.
What Is Alleged About Spencer Swearnger’s Death at the Dallas County Jail?
These are allegations from the lawsuit and published reports, not court findings. Swearnger was held in the Dallas County Jail in 2023. Reports describe him drinking large amounts of toilet water, being placed in a restraint chair, and dying on November 15, 2023 at Parkland Hospital. The family’s lawyers attribute his death to water intoxication, and have said it was the third such death at the jail in recent years and that the jail had prior notice of the risk.
The county’s settlement document does not state a medical cause of death, and the docket does not establish causation or liability. Dallas County has denied liability in its court filings, according to published reporting.
Is the Dallas County $1,500,000 Settlement Already Approved?
Not as of this writing. The October 6, 2026 Commissioners Court agenda asks the court to authorize the County Treasurer to issue a $1,500,000 check payable to the Law Offices of Dean Malone, P.C., and to authorize the County Judge to sign the settlement documents. The county’s proposed order directs the check to be released to an employee of the Dallas County District Attorney’s Civil Division for disbursement and satisfaction. This article will be updated when the vote is recorded. After approval, the parties would still need to file the paperwork to close the federal case.
Related article: Mt. Hawley Insurance Sues Hanover American Over Rejected $900,000 Settlement Offer After Paying $1,000,000 in Florida Wrongful Death Case

Can Other Dallas County Jail Inmates or Families File a Claim for the $1,500,000?
No. This is an individual lawsuit, not a class action. The docket lists Debra Slay and Shantella Tony as plaintiffs and Dallas County as the only defendant, and it shows no certified class. Other people held in the Dallas County Jail, and families of others who died there, do not receive a share. Anyone with a separate claim would have to pursue it on their own, and deadlines for claims against Texas counties can be short, so they should speak with a licensed Texas attorney promptly.
If a website asks you for personal information to “claim” money from the Swearnger settlement, it is not supported by the county’s settlement document.
For background on how these claims work, see What Is A Wrongful Death Lawsuit? What You Must Know Before Filing.
How Does the Swearnger Case Compare With Dallas County’s $1,000,000 Paul French Settlement?
In 2024, Dallas County approved a separate $1,000,000 settlement with the family of Paul Aaron French, who died in the jail on December 8, 2020. His autopsy reportedly identified acute water intoxication. That was a different lawsuit with a different settlement, and it is not part of this one. Reports also describe pending federal lawsuits over other jail deaths, including Taylon Dickerson (2022), but their status should be checked on the court docket.
Spencer Swearnger Lawsuit Timeline
| Date | Event |
| November 15, 2023 | Spencer Wayne Swearnger dies at Parkland Hospital after being held in the Dallas County Jail |
| June 13, 2025 | Debra Slay and Shantella Tony file the federal complaint |
| June 16, 2025 | Case reassigned to Chief District Judge David C. Godbey |
| June 17, 2025 | Dallas County served |
| July 8, 2025 | Dallas County files its answer |
| July 25, 2025 | Scheduling order sets trial for February 1, 2027 |
| September 23, 2025 | Plaintiffs file a motion to compel Dallas County’s initial disclosures |
| September 15, 2026 | Settlement briefed in closed session (per the county) |
| October 6, 2026 | Commissioners Court agenda asks for approval of the $1,500,000 settlement |
Dallas County Spencer Swearnger Settlement FAQ
How much is the Dallas County settlement in the Spencer Swearnger case?
The county’s October 6, 2026 agenda document proposes a $1,500,000 full and final settlement of Slay et al. v. Dallas County, Texas.
Who receives the Dallas County $1,500,000 settlement?
The county’s proposed order makes the check payable to the Law Offices of Dean Malone, P.C. for the plaintiffs’ claims. The plaintiffs are Debra Slay and Shantella Tony, as administrator of Spencer Swearnger’s estate, along with the estate’s heirs and wrongful-death beneficiaries.
Can the public file a claim for the Dallas County Swearnger settlement?
No. There is no claim form, administrator, eligibility process or deadline.
Has Dallas County admitted fault in Spencer Swearnger’s death?
The county’s settlement document describes a full and final settlement and does not state an admission of liability. Dallas County has denied liability in court filings, according to published reports.
Was Spencer Swearnger’s death officially found to be caused by water intoxication?
The family’s lawyers and published reports attribute his death to water intoxication, but the county’s settlement document does not state a cause of death and the federal court has made no finding on causation.
Is Slay v. Dallas County a class action?
No. It is an individual civil-rights and wrongful-death case under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.
Which court is hearing the Swearnger lawsuit?
The U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Texas, Dallas Division, before Chief District Judge David C. Godbey, Case No. 3:25-CV-01524-N.
What happens after the Dallas County Commissioners Court votes on the settlement?
If approved and signed, the county would pay the settlement and the parties would file the paperwork needed to close the federal case.
For general information only; not legal advice. AllAboutLawyer.com is not a law firm.
Sources: (1) Dallas County Commissioners Court, October 6, 2026 agenda and settlement briefing and proposed order for Civil Action No. 3:25-CV-01524-N. (2) Justia federal docket, Slay et al. v. Dallas County, Texas, No. 3:2025cv01524 (N.D. Tex.). (3) Published reports on the Swearnger, French and Dickerson jail deaths.
Researched and written by Israr Ahmad, legal content researcher and founder of AllAboutLawyer.com. Case name, number, parties, judge, filing date, answer date and trial setting verified against the Northern District of Texas docket (via Justia, last retrieved September 29, 2025); settlement amount, payee and meeting dates as described in the Dallas County Commissioners Court agenda materials; circumstances of the death are allegations from the lawsuit and published reports, as of October 6, 2026. Last Updated: October 6, 2026.
About the Author
Israr Ahmad is a legal content researcher with 4+ years of experience covering class action settlements and consumer rights cases. He has researched and published coverage of 2,500+ settlements using verified court records, settlement administrator filings, and government sources. Learn more about Israr.
